St. Louis Cardinals announce Hall of Fame Class of 2015


In televised special on FOX Sports Midwest last night, the St. Louis Cardinals announced the Hall of Fame Induction Class of 2015. Joining the St. Louis Cardinals Hall of Fame during the official inductions this summer are Ted Simmons, Bob Forsch, Curt Flood and George Kissell.

More from St Louis Cardinals News

The second induction class is set to be inducted on Saturday, August 15th at FOX Sports Midwest Live! in Ballpark Village.

“We are proud to enshrine this elite group of Cardinals whose outstanding achievements have earned them the honor of permanently joining the greatest names in Cardinals history in our Hall of Fame,” Cardinals Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Bill DeWitt Jr. said in a team statement. “We look forward to celebrating the achievements of these remarkable men in August during Induction Weekend.”

The Cardinals Hall of Fame was established in order to recognize those careers and achievements by some of the greatest players in the organization’s history as well as those who made contributions to the club. In order to be eligible, players must have played in St. Louis for three seasons and be officially retired as a player for three years. Players fall into to categories: Modern and Veteran. To be classified as a veteran, players must have retired more than 40 years prior to the year being considered for induction.

The St. Louis Cardinals Hall of Fame Gallery presented by Edward Jones is on the second floor of Cardinals Nation in Ballpark Village. It is free and open to the public to visit.

“We want to thank our fans and the Red Ribbon Panel for choosing such an outstanding induction class,” said Cardinals President Bill DeWitt III.

There were over 45,000 votes cast over the six-week voting period. Also considered for induction by the Red Ribbon Panel were Steve Carlton, Keith Hernandez, Mark McGwire, Matt Morris, Edgar Renteria, and Joe Torre.

Flood was elected by the Red Ribbon Panel. Classified as a veteran, Flood played in the outfield for the Cardinals over a 12 year career that saw him win two World Series rings in three appearances. His refusal to accept a trade to the Philadelphia Phillies opened the door for the free agency system.

The Cardinals organization, independent of the Red Ribbon Panel, retains the right to annually induct an individual who has been an important figure in Cardinals history. This year, the Cardinals decided to induct George Kissell. He spent 65 years with the Cardinals as a player, coach, scout, and instructor. His teachings defined what is now known as the Cardinal Way.

The Cardinals Hall of Fame Members
Jim Bottomley, Ken Boyer, Lou Brock, Jack Buck, August A. “Gussie” Busch Jr., Dizzy Dean, Jim Edmonds, Frank Frisch, Bob Gibson, Chick Hafey, Jesse Haines, Whitey Herzog, Rogers Hornsby, Tony La Russa, Marty Marion, Willie McGee, Joe Medwick, Johnny Mize, Stan Musial, Branch Rickey, Red Schoendienst, Mike Shannon, Enos Slaughter, Ozzie Smith, Billy Southworth and Bruce Sutter.

The 2015 Cardinals Hall of Fame “Red Ribbon” Selection Panel
Tom Ackerman, Frank Cusumano, Derrick Goold, Whitey Herzog, Rick Hummel, Randy Karraker, Martin Kilcoyne, Jenifer Langosch, Tony La Russa, Bernie Miklasz, Joe Ostermeier, Rob Rains, Red Schoendienst, Joe Strauss, and Brian Walton.