No Veteran Candidates elected to National Baseball Hall of Fame


The Golden Era Committee has not elected anyone to the National Baseball Hall of Fame.

More from St Louis Cardinals News

Dick Allen and Tony Oliva led the voting with 11 votes each, falling short by one vote to be inducted. Ken Boyer was amongst those voters with three or fewer votes.

Just as with the BBWAA voters, candidates are required to receive votes from 75% of the 16-member committee. Today’s electees will join those voted in when the 2015 Baseball Writers’ Association of America election results are announced on January 6, 2015.

The finalists had been selected by the BBWAA-appointed Historical Overview Committee. Eligible candidates made their most significant career impact during the 1947-72 time period. All candidates considered must have been in baseball for at least ten or more seasons. Players must have been retired for 21 or more seasons.

The Historical Overview Committee consists of the following: Dave Van Dyck (Chicago Tribune); Bob Elliott (Toronto Sun); Rick Hummel (St. Louis Post-Dispatch); Steve Hirdt (Elias Sports Bureau); Bill Madden (New York Daily News); Ken Nigro, (formerly Baltimore Sun); Jack O’Connell (BBWAA secretary/treasurer); Tracy Ringolsby (; Glenn Schwarz (formerly San Francisco Chronicle); Claire Smith (ESPN); and Mark Whicker (Los Angeles News Group).

The 16-member Golden Era Commiteee consists of the following: Hall of Fame members Jim Bunning, Rod Carew, Pat Gillick, Ferguson Jenkins, Al Kaline, Joe Morgan, Ozzie Smith and Don Sutton; major league executives Jim Frey (retired), David Glass (Royals), Roland Hemond (Diamondbacks), and Bob Watson (retired); along with veteran media members Steve Hirdt, Dick Kaegel, Phil Pepe and Tracy Ringolsby.