MLB Postseason Awards


With both the BBWAA and IBWAA results for the MLB Postseason Awards set to be announced this month, I’m announcing my picks here in the spirit of transparency. I will add that I am a voting member of the IBWAA.

American League
Most Valuable Player: Jose Altuve, Houston Astros
Cy Young Award: Felix Hernandez, Seattle Mariners
Rookie of the Year: Jose Abreu, Chicago White Sox
Manager of the Year: Buck Showalter, Baltimore Orioles

National League
Most Valuable Player: Clayton Kershaw, Los Angeles Dodgers
Cy Young Award: Clayton Kershaw, Los Angeles Dodgers
Rookie of the Year: Billy Hamilton, Cincinnati Reds
Manager of the Year: Mike Matheny, St. Louis Cardinals

As far as the MVP voting went, it was a very tough decision choosing between Altuve and Mike Trout. While Trout clearly dominated in WAR, Altuve led the league in batting average, hits, and stolen bases. The Houston Astros finished 4th place in the American League West but without Altuve, I feel that they would have finished dead last in the league.

Clayton Kershaw was the no-brainer decision. Adam Wainwright will get his Cy Young Award at some point in the near future but he’s going to have to put up some great numbers to beat Kershaw.