Baseball Hall of Fame releases Expansion Era Ballot for 2014 Induction


The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum officially released the Expansion Era Ballot for the consideration for for induction into the Hall of Fame Class of 2014.
May 11, 2012; St. Louis, MO. USA; St. Louis Cardinals former manager Tony La Russa poses for a photo after a ceremony to retire his number ten before a game between the St. Louis Cardinals and the Atlanta Braves at Busch Stadium. Image Credit: Jeff Curry-USA TODAY Sports
There were several players or managers amongst the twelve names that were associated with the St. Louis Cardinals. Overall, there were 6 players, 4 managers, and 2 executives that made the final ballot.

The candidates are Dave Concepcion, Bobby Cox, Steve Garvey, Tommy John, Tony La Russa, Billy Martin, Marvin Miller, Dave Parker, Dan Quisenberry, Ted Simmons, George Steinbrenner, and Joe Torre.

La Russa won 3 World Series and finished with a record of 2,728-2,365 (.536) record in 33 seasons a manager.

Simmons was a former catcher for the Cardinals, Brewers, and Braves. He finished his 21-season career with .285 batting average, 2,472 hits, 483 doubles, 248 home runs and 1,389 RBI.

Torre did most of his HOF worthy accomplishments with the Yankees but he managed the Cardinals for a few seasons. He finished with a 2,326-1,997 (.538) record over 29 seasons as a manager.

The smart money says that Cox, La Russa, and Torre get inducted. Miller could finally get the votes that put him over the top following his passing last year. Since the Expansion Era voting committee consists of 16 members, there are 12 votes required for induction.

The committee includes Hall of Famers Rod Carew, Carlton Fisk, Whitey Herzog, Tommy Lasorda, Joe Morgan, Paul Molitor, Phil Niekro and Frank Robinson, major league executives Paul Beeston (Blue Jays), Andy MacPhail, Dave Montgomery (Phillies) and Jerry Reinsdorf (White Sox); and historians Steve Hirdt (Elias Sports Bureau), Bruce Jenkins (San Francisco Chronicle), Jack O’Connell (BBWAA) and Jim Reeves (retired, Fort Worth Star-Telegram).