PostCards: World Series Game 6 – St. Louis Cardinals vs. Boston Red Sox


It’s win or go home for the St. Louis Cardinals as they face an elimination game tonight in Game 6 of the World Series against the Boston Red Sox.
Oct 24, 2013; Boston, MA, USA; St. Louis Cardinals starting pitcher Michael Wacha throws a pitch against the Boston Red Sox in the first inning during game two of the MLB baseball World Series at Fenway Park. Image Credit: Jared Wickerham/Pool Photo via USA TODAY Sports
The Cardinals turn to rookie pitcher Michael Wacha (4‐1, 2.78; 1‐0, 3.00) as he takes on John Lackey (10‐13, 3.52; 0‐1, 3.68), the last rookie pitcher to win an elimination game. Wacha is 4-0 this postseason. He allowed 3 runs in his last 4 starts.

The Cards have won 4 of the 10 World Series in which they did not hold home field advantage: 1926 vs. New York Yankees, 1934 against the Detroit Tigers, 1967 against the Boston Red Sox, and 2006 against the Detroit Tigers. Following Game 5 on Monday, the Cards now hold a 58-59 (.496) record in the World Series, including a 31‐28 (.525) record in home games.

In playoff history, the Cards are 10-10 in Game 6, including a 6-7 record in the World Series (3-4 on the road). The Cardinals’ last World Series road win in Game 6 came in 1934 against the Detroit Tigers.

When trailing 2-3, the Cards have won 4 of 5 World Series. They are 12-7 in the World Series when facing elimination. The last two times that the Cards won Games 6 and 7 on the road were in 1926 and 1934.

If Carpenter can score some runs tonight, the Cards should do fine. During the season, they were 28-3 when he scored twice or more.

Cardinals lineup:
1. Matt Carpenter (2B)
2. Carlos Beltran (RF)
3. Matt Holliday (LF)
4. Allen Craig (DH)
5. Yadier Molina (C)
6. Matt Adams (1B)
7. David Freese (3B)
8. Jon Jay (CF)
9. Daniel Descalso (SS)
Michael Wacha (P)

Red Sox Lineup:
1. Jacoby Ellsbury (CF)
2. Dustin Pedroia (2B)
3. David Ortiz (DH)
4. Mike Napoli (1B)
5. Jonny Gomes (LF)
6. Shane Victorino (RF)
7. Xander Bogaerts (3B)
8. Stephen Drew (SS)
9. David Ross (C)
John Lackey (P)