BBA: My 2013 Postseason Awards Ballot


As a member of the Baseball Bloggers Alliance, I present my 2013 Awards for the regular season. While Redbird Rants is a National League blog, I am voting for the American League awards as well.
Oct 3, 2013; St. Louis, MO, USA; St. Louis Cardinals second baseman Matt Carpenter (13) throws out Pittsburgh Pirates first baseman Justin Morneau (not pictured) to end game one of the National League divisional series playoff baseball game at Busch Stadium. The Cardinals defeated the Pirates 9-1. Image Credit: Scott Rovak-USA TODAY Sports
Some of these were easier said than done. I feel that the competition for the MVP race in the National League is very tough but in the end, I went with Matt Carpenter due to the fact that he led the National League in multiple categories. Moreover, Carpenter had to learn a completely new position during the offseason.

The Cy Young Award in the National League is another where it could go in the direction of Adam Wainwright but Kershaw has been dominant this season.

National League
Most Valuable Player: Matt Carpenter, St. Louis Cardinals
Cy Young Award: Clayton Kershaw, Los Angeles Dodgers
Rookie of the Year: Jose Fernandez, Miami Marlins
Manager of the Year: Mike Matheny, St. Louis Cardinals

American League
Most Valuable Player: Miguel Cabrera, Detroit Tigers
Cy Young Award: Max Scherzer, Detroit Tigers
Rookie of the Year: Wil Myers, Tampa Bay Rays
Manager of the Year: John Farrell, Boston Red Sox

BBA-exclusive awards
Connie Mack Award (manager): John Farrell, Boston Red Sox
Willie Mays Award (rookie): Jose Fernandez, Miami Marlins
Goose Gossage Award (reliever): Craig Kimbrel, Atlanta Braves
Walter Johnson Award (top pitcher): Clayton Kershaw, Los Angeles Dodgers
Stan Musial Award (top player): Miguel Cabrera, Detroit Tigers