St. Louis Cardinals broadcaster Mike Shannon needs your support


Cardinal Nation, it’s that time of year again to start getting out the vote for longtime St. Louis Cardinals broadcaster Mike Shannon.
Apr 29, 2013; St. Louis, MO, USA; St. Louis Cardinals manager Mike Matheny (22) talks with broadcaster Mike Shannon before a game against the Cincinnati Reds at Busch Stadium. Image Credit: Jeff Curry-USA TODAY Sports
The Baseball Hall of Fame has restructured the process that they use to name the next recipient of the Ford C. Frick Award. The award is presented annually for excellence in baseball broadcasting.

Just as the Veterans Committee has restructured which era gets voted on each year, they have done the same for announcers. In 2014, the award go to a broadcaster from the High Tide Era. These broadcasters have been working during the regional cable network era that begin in the mid-1980s.

In 2015, the award will honor a candidate whose significant years were during the mid-1950s all the way up to the mid-1980s in the the Living Room Era.

In 2016, the award will honor someone who worked in the early days of baseball broadcasting through the early 1950s in the Broadcasting Dawn Era.

At the Baseball Hall fan page on Facebook, fans can vote once a day through September 30th for the opportunity to select three of the ten finalists. The remaining seven finalists will be decided upon by a Hall of Fame research committee.

As far as the voting goes:

"The 20-member Frick Award Committee will cast ballots during November, with the 2014 winner to be announced during the 2013 Baseball Winter Meetings from Orlando, Fla., December 10-11. The Frick Award electorate is comprised of the 16 living Frick Award recipients and four broadcast historians/columnists, including Frick honorees Marty Brennaman, Jerry Coleman, Gene Elston, Joe Garagiola, Jaime Jarrin, Milo Hamilton, Tony Kubek, Denny Matthews, Tim McCarver, Jon Miller, Felo Ramirez, Vin Scully, Lon Simmons, Bob Uecker, Dave Van Horne and Bob Wolff, and historians/columnists Bob Costas (NBC/MLB Network), Barry Horn (Dallas Morning News), Ted Patterson (historian) and Curt Smith (historian)."