My Hall of Fame Ballot


Just as last year, Fansided asked baseball writers to vote on the Hall of Fame ballot. In the interest of fairness and transparency, I offer the list of players that I voted for.
May 18, 2012; Houston, TX, USA; Houston Astros former second baseman Craig Biggio watches batting practice before a game against the Texas Rangers at Minute Maid Park. Image Credit: Brett Davis-USA TODAY Sports
I voted for the following 10 players:
Jeff Bagwell
Craig Biggio
Fred McGriff
Jack Morris
Dale Murphy
Mike Piazza
Tim Raines
Curt Schilling
Lee Smith
Larry Walker

This year is such a crucial year as there are several players that either used steroids or were accused of steroids. I won’t bother naming names as we all know who they are. It’s also the final year that Dale Murphy is on the ballot. There’s a big push for his induction into the Hall of Fame. Murphy has been endorsed by the likes of Keith Olbermann and Curt Schilling, to name a few.

Voting for Craig Biggio is self-explanatory given that he has 3,060 career hits. Hitting 3,000 career hits has long been the gold standard for first-ballot induction.

Just as I did last year, I voted once more for Jeff Bagwell. I think that the two Astros teammmates are both worthy of induction. I personally do not think that Bags used. I think it’s a shame that his career ended the way he did as he was so close to 500 home runs.

McGriff has been on the ballot for 4 years now. He’s 10 hits shy of 2,500 and 7 home runs short of 500 homers in his career.

Morris has 254 career wins and 2,478 strikeouts. Last year, he got 66.7% of the vote. This is his 14th year on the ballot. There is no reason to think that he won’t be inducted this year as he’s very close to the 75% threshold.

I’ve already made the case for Murphy at Fansided Radio.

Pizza is one of the best offensive catchers in years. With over 2,000 hits, 400 home runs, and a batting average of .308, the only reason he would not get inducted this year is due to the era in which he played. I don’t think he used steroids and he has not really been tied to them.

Raines should get in sooner rather than later. Between 2605 hits and 808 stolen bases, I don’t know what is stopping the voters from inducting him already. He’s closing in on 50% of the vote.

As for Smith, he belongs in the Hall of Fame. He has not been inducted into the Hall of Fame while relievers such as Hoyt Wilhelm, Rollie Fingers, Bruce Sutter, Goose Gossage, and Dennis Eckersley have. It makes no sense. He picked up 50.6% last year and this is his 11th year on the ballot.

Last year, I did not vote for Larry Walker but I changed my mine this year and decided to vote for him.