May 11, 2012; St. Louis, MO. USA; St. Louis Cardinals former manager Tony La Russa poses for a photo after a ceremony to retire his number ten before a game between the St. Louis Cardinals and the Atlanta Braves at Busch Stadium. Image Credit: Jeff Curry-USA TODAY Sports

Tony La Russa, Joe Torre, Bobby Cox voted into Baseball Hall of Fame as Expansion Era inductees

The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum officially announced the results of the Expansion Era Ballot for the consideration for for induction into the Hall of Fame Class of 2014. Unanimously elected by the Expansion Era committee were former Toronto Blue Jays/Atlanta Braves manager Bobby Cox, Chicago White Sox/Oakland Athletics/St. Louis Cardinals manager Tony La Russa, and New York Yankees manager Joe Torre.

There were several players or managers amongst the twelve names that were associated with the St. Louis Cardinals. Overall, there were 6 players, 4 managers, and 2 executives that made the final ballot.

The other finalists on this year’s ballot were Dave Concepcion, Steve Garvey, Tommy John, Billy Martin, Marvin Miller, Dave Parker, Dan Quisenberry, and Ted Simmons, George Steinbrenner. All received six or fewer votes.

La Russa, Torre, and Simmons had ties to the club as a manager or player.

Since the Expansion Era voting committee consists of 16 members, there are 12 votes required for induction.

The committee includes Hall of Famers Rod Carew, Carlton Fisk, Whitey Herzog, Tommy Lasorda, Joe Morgan, Paul Molitor, Phil Niekro and Frank Robinson, major league executives Paul Beeston (Blue Jays), Andy MacPhail, Dave Montgomery (Phillies) and Jerry Reinsdorf (White Sox); and historians Steve Hirdt (Elias Sports Bureau), Bruce Jenkins (San Francisco Chronicle), Jack O’Connell (BBWAA) and Jim Reeves (retired, Fort Worth Star-Telegram).

Tags: St Louis Cardinals

comments powered by Disqus